Home \ Help \ Search \ Login RSS

Welcome, Guest. Please Login

This forum is now READ-ONLY! Please visit http://forum.wiring.co/ for the new forum.

Wiring ForumProgramming Questions & HelpLibrary writers › GPS library available (NMEA protocol)

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
GPS library available (NMEA protocol) (Read 13995 times)
09/09/08 at 12:29:41

maartenl   Offline
YaBB Newbies
The Netherlands

I am a novice forum user, but I have written a library for the Wiring i/o board, to connect it to GPS receivers. The library is called NMEA:: (after the protocol that it implements). It can be downloaded from: http://www.maartenlamers.com/nmea/.

[list][*]It makes it very easy to decode data from [i]any[/i] GPS receiver.
[*]It comes with programming examples that cover most of its applications.
[*]It can be used in two different modes: one for normal users and one for GPS experts.
[*]It includes routines for calculating distances and directions over the Earth's surface, so you don't have to write them.
[*]It decodes GPRMC and [i]all other[/i] sentence types.
[/list]

The NMEA:: library works very well on my Wiring i/o board, but I am very curious about how it works for others and open for feedback. It is my first contribution ever, and I hope you like it.

Kind regards, and keep Wiring!
Maarten Lamers, The Netherlands

IP Logged

Reply #1 - 09/10/08 at 14:59:11

Vaccumdiode2   Offline
chicago, IL USA

That looks great!

I hope to try it out in the future. 

IP Logged

Reply #2 - 09/10/08 at 15:07:49

maartenl   Offline
YaBB Newbies
The Netherlands

[quote author=Vaccumdiode2 link=1220963382/0#1 date=1221058751] I hope to try it out in the future.[/quote]

well, I'm happy to hear that. let me know if you like it. I will be making minor updates the coming period, so keep an eye on the abovementioned webpage.

thanks,
Maarten

IP Logged

Reply #3 - 09/11/08 at 16:15:16

Titus   Offline
Wiring Soccer Robot!
Amsterdam