Home \ Help \ Search \ Login RSS

Welcome, Guest. Please Login

This forum is now READ-ONLY! Please visit http://forum.wiring.co/ for the new forum.

Wiring ForumWiring HardwareTroubleshooting › PWM problem in 13?

Pages: 1 2 3 
PWM problem in 13? (Read 27494 times)
12/05/07 at 07:05:27

eustace   Offline
YaBB Newbies
Building our robotic overlords
Los Angeles

I'm a Wiring noob, this is my first post; please excuse me if its a bit long.

I am building a small, tracked robot with a Wiring board for a brain.  At the moment it has 2 motors, for which I would like to use PWM outputs 0-3, a pot on Analog Out 0, and 8 LEDs on pins 24 through 31.

I was having problems getting PWM out while building the bot; I read some posts from August where CSMotion added an initialization  line to the setup() section that allowed output, so I tried that and it seemed to work (I still didn't have really usable hardware at that time so I moved on).

Now I have the bot built and wired and I have a problem.  When my program turns pins 29 thru 31 on, PWM comes on (29 turns on PWM 5, 30 is 4, and 31 is 3).  This despite the fact that there is no initialization line in setup(), and no analogWrite() in loop().

Can someone explain this?  I am appending the code:

// pot motor and leds

int val;                    // used to hold pot value

void setup()
{
  pinMode(24, OUTPUT);            // set the digital pins for LEDs as output
  pinMode(25, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(26, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(27, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(28, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(29, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(30, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(31, OUTPUT);
  Serial.begin(9600);             // sets the serial port to 9600
}

void loop()
{
  int i;
  for(i=24; i<32; i=i+1) {        // loop to cycle through LEDs
    digitalWrite(i, HIGH);        // sets the LED on
    val = analogRead(0);          // read analog input pin 0
    Serial.print(val, DEC);       // prints the value read
    Serial.print(" ");            // prints a space betwen the numbers