Home \ Help \ Search \ Login RSS

Welcome, Guest. Please Login

This forum is now READ-ONLY! Please visit http://forum.wiring.co/ for the new forum.

Wiring ForumWiring HardwareTangible computing › Making an existing EQ digital through Wiring Board

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Making an existing EQ digital through Wiring Board (Read 10312 times)
04/11/07 at 03:34:35

Gr8Scott   Offline
YaBB Newbies
Guns-R-Gr8!
Mayberry

I have a project I would like to do, but I'm totally new to the Wiring language and also to the electronics side of things as well.  I'm good with a soldering iron and I can read schematics.  I'm also a very fast learner with most things.  What I really want at the moment is guidance from those who have any level of experience.

I want to take an existing stereo EQ that has a small footprint and turn it into a digitally controlled EQ with 16 memory presets that are changed using an ethernet (cat 5) network cable.  What I'm thinking of doing is removing the existing EQ sliders from their solder points and wiring the audio paths of the digital pots in their place.  I've found a I2C controlled digital pot (DS1882) that seems to fit my needs, but the price is steep for each unit ($11 each unit) and I'll need 8 of them.  The I2C chips have 3 pins for ID, which means I can use 8 digital pots max using that type chip.  I plan to piggyback the ethernet cable into this unit (the existing control network is a closed loop and there are no more available places to add a cable etc.  I don't want this unit to communicate on it's own and I basically want it to change to it's own internal corresponding preset number from the ethernet line and not try to send output to the other items.  I want it to be a silent accessory that the existing network is unaware of. 

Possible?  What will be the toughest part?  Other than the I2C pots, cat 5 splitter, EQ and Wiring Board what else do I need?  Is I2C the way to go or is there a better alternative.