Home \ Help \ Search \ Login RSS

Welcome, Guest. Please Login

This forum is now READ-ONLY! Please visit http://forum.wiring.co/ for the new forum.

Wiring ForumProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › just can't get the matrix to work.

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
just can't get the matrix to work. (Read 11294 times)
04/01/07 at 18:27:53

palDAU   Offline
YaBB Newbies

ok, i am not an electrical engineer.  just an architecture student.  for the life of me, i can't get the matrix to work with the maxim7219.  i've tried it with both the arduino and the wiring board.  i can get it to light up, i can get it to change.  but there does not seem to be any rhyme or reason to any changes that i make.

i have tried the simple matrix and sprite libraries.  they do stuff, but not what i think they are intended to do.  they pretty much freak out and flash(not in a good way) or just blink the entire matrix on or off. 

is it possible that i have fried the maxim chips?  i have been playing around with different power levels from none(just whatever gets there from being plugged into the datain, load, and clock) to 5v in the V+ and 10k RS +5V in the ISET.  it obviously gets brighter when i have it hooked up to the 5V, to the point where is is always on and seems not to change at all.

any help would be greatly appreciated.  i am probably just missing something stupid here.  and i do believe the matrix is built properly.  i can get every individual light to go on on its own without the use of the maxim.

IP Logged

Reply #1 - 04/01/07 at 19:03:14

barragan   Offline
YaBB Administrator

Please post pictures of your connections and code to help you better.

IP Logged

Reply #2 - 04/01/07 at 19:56:20

palDAU   Offline
YaBB Newbies