Home \ Help \ Search \ Login RSS

Welcome, Guest. Please Login

This forum is now READ-ONLY! Please visit http://forum.wiring.co/ for the new forum.

Wiring ForumWiring HardwareTangible computing › digital out to analog 220V?

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
digital out to analog 220V? (Read 7816 times)
03/13/06 at 17:35:44

beachmeat   Offline
YaBB Newbies

Hello there,

for an installation that shall technically simply turn 24 lights (60W) on or off, we are thinking about using a wiring board for this. I am not very experienced with electronics, so I was wondering if its possible to use the boards digital outputs for this task. In my idea, it should be possible to connect the digital output to a relay that switches the light on when a signal is outputted. For the configuration of the relay I would need to know the output current of the digital I/Os - I couldnt find any information here, so I checked at Atmel and they say the digital outputs have a current of 5V and 40 mA - can anyone confirm this? Furthermore it would be great to know with which hardware (relay, transistor) it could be possible to drive these lights...

Many thanks
Manuel

P.S.: A little side-question - we have a wiring board that got fused accidently... I have a power adapter that has 4.5V or 6V and 1000mA - I read the wiring board normally uses 800 mA - can I use that adapter anyway?

IP Logged

Reply #1 - 03/13/06 at 19:37:07

Alan_Kilian   Offline
Wiring? It looks like
Java to me.

Manuel,

There are many ways you can do this. You can make a more complex system that is cheaper, or a simple system that is more expensive.

You say that you are not very experienced with electronics, so I will tell you about the simple method that costs a little more.

You should use a "solid-state relay" to control your lightbulbs.

Jameco.com has a part #175214 relay for US$5.95 each at http://jameco.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?langId=-1&storeId=100...